How to Remove My AI on Snapchat

Quick Links

Key Takeaways

  • You can now remove Snapchat’s My AI chatbot for free from your Chat tab without a subscription.
  • Removing My AI from your Chat list does not delete data; you will need to access your account settings.
  • To reduce My AI’s access to your data, prevent it from viewing your Story or clear the data saved about you.



While Snapchat previously required a Snapchat+ subscription to unpin or remove its My AI chatbot from your chats, you can now do it for free. Here’s all you need to know about removing the chatbot from your chats list.


How to Get Rid of My AI on Snapchat

There are a bunch of useful things you can do with Snapchat’s My AI, but you can also decide to remove it from your Chat tab if you’re not interested in using the chatbot.

While the ability to get rid of My AI was previously only available with a Snapchat+ subscription, the feature now also appears on free accounts. You can use the Clear from Chat Feed option to remove My AI from your Chat tab.

This does not remove My AI from your friends list, so you can find the chatbot again later if you want. There is currently no way to unfriend the chatbot, so it will always be present in some form.

But if you’re tired of it appearing in your chat list, here’s how to remove My AI:


  1. Open the Chat tab and hold down on My AI.
  2. In the popup menu, tap on Chat and notification settings.
  3. Tap on Clear from Chat Feed. Snapchat will ask you to confirm, so select Clear.

My AI will then be removed from your Chat list. If you ever want to bring My AI back to your chats list, you can start a new chat and select My AI as the contact.

Since you can’t remove My AI from your friends list, this is the most effective way to reduce the chatbot’s visibility on the app.

Clearing a chat does not delete the data My AI has about you from your conversations. You will need to access your account settings to do this.

How to Reduce My AI’s Access to Your Data

If you’re worried about My AI accessing your data, there are a few ways to reduce its access. Firstly, you can prevent My AI from viewing your Story.


To do this, open Snapchat and then follow these steps:

  1. Switch to the Chat tab and hold down on My AI.
  2. Select Privacy Settings and switch off the toggle for My Story. Then tap Done.

If you have chatted with the chatbot in the past, you can also clear the data it has saved about you. To do this, you need to access your account settings. Follow these steps:

  1. With Snapchat open, tap on your profile icon in the top left.
  2. On your profile page, tap on the cog icon in the top right.
  3. On the settings page, scroll down to Clear My AI data.
  4. Snapchat will show a popup and ask you to Confirm.


You can also enable Ghost Mode on Snapchat (in your location settings) to try to hide your location. However, it’s unclear if the chatbot can still access your location through the app’s permissions. To be safe, you can remove location permissions from the app.

You can also delete specific messages you have sent to the chatbot in the past.

Hopefully, these tips will help you get rid of My AI on Snapchat and prevent the chatbot from accessing your data. But it’s important to note that there’s no way to unfriend the chatbot, so these are the best workarounds available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *